Sankhampang Heiße Quellen

Das Hotel liegt einige 35 km von Chiang Mai City können die San Kamphaeng Hot Springs als eine Überraschung für diejenigen, die nicht erkennen, dass Chiang Mai Province entlang einer glücklicherweise meist inaktiv vulkanischen Bruchlinie sitzt kommen . Das Hotel liegt in einem hübschen Landschaftspark von landwirtschaftlichen Flächen umgeben , haben die heißen Quellen wurden vor kurzem , herausgeputzt , aber noch nicht das Äquivalent zu einem Western-Stil Spa. Das Schild am Eingang wird betont, dass die Bäder für thailändische Familien bestimmt sind und berät Westler nicht zu viel erwarten .
 
Trotzdem ist ein Besuch hier ein Spaß und gelegentlich bezaubernde Erfahrung , vor allem, wenn Sie gern gekochte Eier sind . Der Schwefel -reiche Wasser kommt hier aus der Tiefe bei einer Temperatur von rund 100 ° C , und Ei siedenden ist die Lieblingsbeschäftigung . Einfache Unterkunft angeboten und ausgesondert Mineralbäder werden musste , um von den heilenden Eigenschaften des Wassers zu nehmen. Es gibt auch ein Schwimmbad, und etwas mehr luxuriösen Umgebung kann im nahe gelegenen Roong Hot Spring Resort gefunden werden.
 
San Kamphaeng Hot Springs sind von 06:30 bis 17:30 Uhr: an jedem Tag der Woche , und am Wochenende aufgrund von einem Zustrom von lokalen thailändischen Familien und Thai Touristen Chiang Mai überfüllt. Der Eintritt ist 40 Baht für Thais , obwohl farangs mehr erhoben werden können. Die wichtigsten Geysire Auslauf in einer beeindruckenden Höhe , und der Geruch von Schwefel ist sehr offensichtlich .
 
Besucher können ihre Füße in den speziell gekühlten Streams mäandernden rund um den Park genießen , oder im Pool schwimmen für einen Aufpreis von 50 Baht und ein Handtuch ist 10 Baht. Hot Tubs angeboten und das Restaurant serviert grundlegende Thai Essen zu vernünftigen Preisen . Der einfachste Weg, um dorthin zu gelangen ist über einen gelben Bus mit der Aufschrift songthaew San Kamphaeng Hot Springs, mit der Fahrt von Chiang Mai Flower Market unter etwa 1,5 Stunden und kostet 50 Baht oder so.

Sankhampang Hot Springs Near Chiang Mai

Sankhampang Hot Springs, Chiang Mai

Located some 35km from Chiang Mai City, the Sankamphaeng Hot Springs may come as a surprise to those who don’t realise that Chiang Mai Province sits along a fortunately mostly inactive volcanic fault line. Located in a pretty landscaped park surrounded by agricultural land, the hot springs have been recently smartened up, but are not yet the equivalent of a western-style spa. The notice at the entrance stresses that the baths are intended for Thai families and advises westerners not to expect too much.

Even so, a visit here is a fun and occasionally charming experience, especially if you’re fond of boiled eggs. The sulphur-rich water here comes from deep underground at a temperature of around 100°C, and egg-boiling is the favorite occupation. Basic accommodation is offered and segregated mineral water baths can be had to take advantage of the curative properties of the water. There’s also a swimming pool, and slightly more luxurious surroundings can be found at nearby Roong Hot Spring Resort.

Sankamphaeng Hot Springs are open from 6:30am to 17:30pm every day of the week. It can get crowded on weekends due to an influx of local Thai families and Thai tourists visiting Chiang Mai. Admission is 40 baht for Thais, although farangs may be charged more. The main geysers spout to an impressive height, and the smell of sulphur is very evident.

  

Visitors can soak their feet in the specially-cooled streams meandering around the park, or swim in the pool for an extra charge of 50 baht. Hot tubs are offered and the restaurant serves basic Thai food at reasonable prices. The easiest way to get there is via a yellow songthaew bus marked Sankamphaeng Hot Springs, with the journey from Chiang Mai’s Flower Market taking around 1.5 hours and costing 50 baht or so.

It wasn’t until the late 20th century that the hot springs were really noticed by anyone other than local villagers who used them to boil bamboo shoots.  That changed in 1972, when a geothermal survey was conducted.  Rather than harnessing the power to generate electricity, the springs were developed into a tourist attraction in 1984. 

Visitors can snack on eggs, available to buy on entry, that they then boil themselves in the springs.  Devoid of any sulphuric smells, the free public foot baths are perhaps the springs’ most enjoyable feature.  The water is naturally cooled to a perfect temperature.

      

Click to see our comprehensive range of Chiang Mai villas and apartments for rent.