Деревня горного племени Мае Рим в Чианг Май

Горные племена в Чианг Май

Помните, когда мы были детьми, мы часто смотрели энциклопедии с яркими картинками племенных деревень и женщин с золотыми кольцами у нех на шее? Это очень интриговало меня.

Луа это привлекательная 20-летняя девушка из племени Карен, также известное как Длинношеие или Паданг, с которым я имел честь пообщаться при помощи переводчика. Необычная аура этой милой девушка светилась гармонией и мудростью не по годам.

Горные племена Тайланда стали одной из ведущих достопримечательностей для туристов на северо-западе страны, в таких местах как Чианг Май и Чианг Рай. Эти местности, по сравнению с прибрежной зоной страны, к примеру Пхукет или Ко Самуи, являются самым достоверным кусочком настоящего Тайланда.    

Для посетителей племенной деревни Mae Rim легко посочувствовать на первый взгляд несчастным людям, прожившим в джунглях не одно поколение. Но если присмотреться, гармония с природой дает этим людям больше чем можно представить.

Все эти люди оказались намного счастливее осознаннее, чем это мы можем мы. За плату в 500 бат деревню может посетить каждый желающий, наблюдая за ежедневными хлопотами жителей, за работой ткацкого станка или разотой ремесленников, изготавливающих предметы для продажи. Фотографировать можно сколько угодно, поэтому, даже после путешествия вы сможете окунуться в воспоминания, рассматривая снимки.

Луа впервые надела кольцо в 13 лет. Некоторые либералы полагают, что это неправильно, но кто они такие, чтобы посягать на уникальную культуру - это основная проблема с комплексом превосходства, развитого мира и менталитета, который сковывает наше мышление.

Эта прелестная дочь горного племени объяснила нам, что если вы носите кольца в течении нескольких лет, их уже нельзя снять, так как это угрожает здоровью. Мышцы шеи становятся настолько слабы, что не могут выдержать вес головы, именно поэтому находится множество желающих высказать свое мнение в «защиту» жителей деревни.

Я спросил ее о жизни в деревне и о том, могла бы она жить в современном мире. Она просто ответила мне, что не понимает смысл вопроса. Это было настолько неожиданно и глубокомысленно, что она быстро поставила меня на место! 

Вспоминая наш путь через деревню, оставалось понятном то, что это очень добрые люди, улыбки которых не могут быть подделкой. Эти лица источали свет, который, к сожалению, редкость в нашем мире.

Некоторые сомневаются, что эта деревня зарабатывает только на продаже сувениров ручной работы отдыхающим. И хотя это может быть правдой только с одной стороны, реалистичность и искренность людей Карен удивили меня.

Пообщавшись с Луа и сделав множество великолепных снимков мы оставили там больше чем по 500 бат. Может с эти кое-кто и не согласиться, но время проведенное в деревне повлияло на мое сознание, а это не может измеряться деньгами.

Mae Rim Hill Tribe Village in Chiang Mai

Hill Tribes in Chiang Mai

Remember when we were children, and you would read an encyclopedia and see colorful photographs of tribal villages and females with gold rings placed around their necks in a line? It used to intrigue me.

Lua is an attractive 20-year-old hill tribe village girl from the Karen tribe, also known as Long-Necks or Padaung, whom I was happy and gracious to converse with via a translator. The aura and class of this beautiful young woman really shone through with an unmistakable spark in her eye that showcased age beyond her years.

Thailand’s hill tribe villages have become one of the country’s leading tourist attractions spanning the northwest of Thailand in places such as Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, which in comparison to beachside destinations such as Phuket and Koh Samui are a more authentic slice of real Thailand.    

It’s easy for visitors to the Mae Rim Hilltribe Village in Chiang Mai to feel sorry for these people that live in the jungle, who have lived there for generations, but sometimes you have to wonder if their way of living is more in line with nature and polar opposites of our material trappings and consumerism mentality.

They all seemed extremely happy, classy and with a more humane attitude towards life than I could ever muster. The village is open to all for a 500 baht fee, giving you the opportunity to roam throughout the wooden hut village and observe the villagers going through their daily life routines, weaving fabrics and crafting handmade items for sale. Photo opportunities are aplenty, which really captures the atmosphere of this unique experience.

Lua first adorned her tribal rings at 13-years-old. Some human rights liberals believe it’s wrong, but who are they to encroach on a unique culture with its own way of doing things – this is a major problem with the superiority complex of the ‘developed world mentality’ that sometimes shackles our own thinking.

This pretty hill tribe girl explained that once you have worn the rings around your neck for a few years, you cannot take them off or risk medical conditions because her neck muscles are not strong enough to support the weight of the head. This is why the human rights activists make their accusations.

I asked her about her life in the village and if she could live in a world where hi-technology rules. She simply stated‘she doesn’t understand the meaning of such a question.’ It was such a powerful and profound statement that put me right back in my box!  

Meandering our way through the village one thing remained constant – these people were extremely gracious and the smiles on their faces were not fake. They exuded a glow I rarely see in human kind, which is a sad take on the world in general.

Some people could question the village is purely a money making exercise, geared towards selling handmade trinkets and fabrics to passing holidaymakers. Although this might be true in one aspect, the realness of the Karen people really surprised me.

Just meeting Lua and taking some great photos of the village and the people was more than worth the 500baht entry fee though others may disagree. To be a guest in the village and absorb their culture for an hour or so had an effect on my consciousness that cannot be measured by money.