Пагода (чеди) Као Хуа Джук на острове Самуи

Буддистские храмы на Самуи

Поездка в Таиланд  просто не будет поездкой в Таиланд, если Вы не посетите  хотя бы один из бесчисленных буддийских храмов страны. В то время,  как большая часть  более знаменитых храмовых сооружений находятся на материке, Самуи тем не менее может похвастаться своим вкладом  в историю и культуру.

Одним из таких примеров является Чеди Као Хуа Джук , расположенная рядом с озером Чавенг на северо-востоке острова Самуи. От этого потрясающего буддийского храма открывается великолепный вид на  береговую линию острова и на аэропорт, где можно наблюдать, как садятся весёлые расписные самолётики. Те, кто совершает короткую поездку вверх по извилистой дороге,  будут вознаграждены захватывающим панорамным видом на весь Самуи, море и соседний остров  Панган.

Богато украшенная золотом Чеди (более известная   на английском языке как ступа), неожиданно возрастает выше  джунглей, Вы её легко увидите издалека. Весь храмовый комплекс демонстрирует традиционный тайский стиль архитектуры с множством деталей и обилием  мифических скульптур. Внутри можно увидеть множество различных религиозных реликвий, в том числе, след Будды, который находится на постаменте в главном зале. Внутри и снаружи Чеди Као Хуа Джук Вы увидите множество великолепных скульптур и золотых статуй Будды


Храм также прекрасное место для тех, кто хотел бы просто отдохнуть от солнца, моря и песка и увидеть что-то необычное и окунуться в  таинственную атмосферу.

Несмотря на то, что Чеди расположена недалеко от центра городка Чавенг, она не связана системой общественного транспорта, посетители должны организовать свой частный транспорт, чтобы добраться до неё. Это легко сделать в большинстве туристических агентств  или даже заказав такси в отеле. Доехать до Чеди также можно, поймав тук-тук (красный или желтый), который можно найти на острове практически в любом месте и в любое время. Принято оговаривать  цену с водителем перед посадкой. Если вы едете самостоятельно, вам придется ориентироваться на  Q Bar. Оттуда, вы можете легко добраться до лестницы, ведущей на вершину к Чеди.

Пожалуйста, обратите внимание,  что Чеди Као Хуа Джук расположен на холме, посетители должны идти от парковки  вверх до храмового комплекса. Это определёное физическое усилие, но как только Вы достигаете вершины холма и увидите открывающийся  потрясающий вид на окрестности,  вы ощутите, что оно того стоило!

Khao Hua Jook

Buddhist Temples in Samui

A trip to Thailand is simply not a trip to Thailand without visiting at least one of the country's countless Buddhist temples. Whilst the majority of the more famous ones are located on the mainland, Koh Samui does boast its fair share too, each as beautiful and intriguing as the next.

One such example is Khao Hua Jook Chedi, located close to Chaweng Lake in the north-east of Samui. This stunning Buddhist temple overlooks the island's gorgeous coastline, sitting atop a hilly terrain. Those who make the short trip up the winding road are rewarded with some breath-taking panoramic views of Koh Samui and across the water to the neighbouring Koh Phangan.

However, it’s not just the pretty view that attracts visitors. The ornately decorated gold Chedi (more commonly known as a stupa in English), rises dramatically above the natural forest surroundings and can be seen from miles away. The main temple complex itself also showcases traditional Thai architecture, alongside some intricate artwork and mythical sculptures. Inside, you can see displays of various religious artifacts and relics, including Buddha's footprint which lies on display in the main room. Khao Hua Jook Chedi is also home to some stunning sculptures and golden idols of Lord Buddha, as well as a multi-armed statue on display, impressive in size and decoration.

The temple also provides a perfect getaway for those seeking a quiet moment of reflection, or just a break from the sun, sea and sand that Samui traditionally offers. Whether Buddhist or not, you can enjoy the unique peace and tranquility as you soak up the quite, still and often mysterious atmosphere that Thai temples always deliver.

Whilst not too far away from downtown Chaweng, the area is not connected by any public transport systems, meaning that visitors need to arrange their own private transport in order to reach this area. This can be done at most tour and travel agencies or even through your own hotel. The trip can also be made by taking a Songthaew (red or yellow multi-person taxi) which are found almost anywhere, at any time on the Island. We suggest you negotiate a fair price with the driver before getting in. If you are driving yourself, you will have to take the road towards the Q Bar and proceed towards the car park. From there, you can easily reach the stairs leading to the summit.

Please note, as the Khao Hua Jook Chedi is located on a small hill, visitors will have to walk up after parking their car or motorcycle and take the steps up to the temple complex. It is a short hike, but once you reach the top of the hill and see the stunning view of the surrounding area you'll realize it was all worth it! You can then see the coastline and the lake from the view point adjoining the Chedi.